A Helpful Tip From Your Lead Designer

One of the more common questions I get from players is this.

“When a personality with [Keyword X] performs an action, is that considered a [Keyword X] action?”

This seems to be a point of confusion, though the answer is really simple. Keywords do not transfer from one card to another. They are, however, inherited by any ability printed on them. Here is an example to illustrate my point.

Asako Katashi is a Fire Shugenja with a Battle/Limited ability. Katashi uses his Limited ability to bow the opponent’s Shugenja. Because Katashi is a Fire Shugenja, his ability inherits the Fire keyword. Bowing the opponent’s Shugenja is a Fire action. Now Katashi attaches and performs the spell Walking the Way. The Fire keyword does not transfer to Walking the Way. Walking the Way is not a Fire action. Then Katashi’s controller uses Hanayashiki to straighten Katashi. The Fire keyword does not transfer to Hanayashiki. Hanayashiki is not a Fire action. Then Katashi bows to lobby for the Imperial Favor. The Fire keyword does not transfer to the rulebook. Lobbying for the Imperial Favor is not a Fire action.

Hopefully this explanation helps when playing the game. The simple rule is this: Keywords do not jump from one card to another.

SHARE THIS POST

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Buzz
  • Reddit
  • Stumnleupon
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Technorati
Author: Bryan Reese View all posts by
Bryan is the Lead Designer for the Legend of the Five Rings Collectible Card Game. To receive more L5R news and special, behind the scenes information, follow Bryan on Twitter @AEGBryan